Heard Laboratories, performed is a transposition for electronic and acoustic instruments of a project of mine called Heard Laboratories (and/OAR, 2009). Heard Laboratories is a sonic ethnography of the research laboratories at Harvard University. Consisting entirely of unprocessed audio recordings of lab activities, equipment, and devices, edited into a long-form composition, the project draws attention to the everyday sounds of scientific research. The research going on in these laboratories provides a ground for our contemporary, technologized society; Heard Laboratories brings the background sounds of these spaces to the fore.

For performed, two edited sequences of recordings from nanoscale physics, atmospheric science, and chemistry laboratories are interpreted and re-presented by the electronic and acoustic instrumentalists that make up the Chicago Sound Map ensemble. The original phonographic project already hovers on the border between abstract electroacoustic sound and documentary; this interpretation will take it over that border, and allow it to be the impetus for the creation of purely abstract music.

The musicians:

Todd Carter – electronics
Brian Labycz – electronics

Kevin Davis – cello
Jen-Clare Paulson – viola
Jason Roebke – bass

Dudley Bayne – piano
Michael Hartman – percussion

Boris Hauf – saxophone
Keefe Jackson – saxophone
Jason Stein – bass clarinet

Don Malone - conductor

Chicago Sound Map 2008

Compositions from Olivia Block and Ernst Karel
Tuesday 8 April 2008, 7:00 pm
Cassidy Theater
Chicago Cultural Center
78 E. Washington St.
Chicago, Ill.